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CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 38 hours of classroom instruction, plus the time required to conduct practical exercises, student presentations, and post testing. The Instructor Training course shall be presented during a period of no more than 15 business days. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors:

(1)
whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;

(2)
the risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course;

(3)
whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called into action to help address the State of Emergency;

(4)
the specific need for the waiver; and

(5)
the degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

(1)
Orientation and Pre-Test





2 Hour

(2)
Instructional Systems Design (ISD)




3 Hours

(3)
Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities
2 Hours

(4)
Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership



4 Hours

(5)
Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources


2 Hours

(6)
Lesson Plan Development and Formatting



3 Hours

(7)
Adult Learning






2 Hours

(8)
Instructional Styles and Platform Skills



5 Hours

(9)
Classroom Management





3 Hours

(10)
Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises

3 Hours

(11)
The Evaluation Process of Learning




3 Hours

(12)
Audio Visual Aids





5 Hours

(13)
Course Closing and Post-test




1 Hour

(14)
Completion of tasks associated with practical exercises, student presentations, and post testing. The Instructor Training School Director shall determine the number of hours required to complete this portion of the curriculum. This decision shall be based on the number of enrolled students, available facilities, and number of instructors.

(c)  The most current version of the "Instructor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division

North Carolina Department of Justice

1700 Tryon Park Drive

Post Office Drawer 149

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

and may be purchased by cash, money order, or credit card, from the Academy bookstore at the following address:

North Carolina Justice Academy

Post Office Drawer 99

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

History Note:
Authority G.S. 17C‑6;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2023; April 1, 2022; July 1, 2021; January 1, 2021.



NUMPAGES
1
 of 


